cracked timing belt covers, and what to do about them

Like other people that have purchased JDM motors, my timing belt covers were cracked in a few places. It’s a long trip from Japan and you can expect these kinds of things to happen. Seal up any cracks well – you don’t want to risk something getting in and shredding the belt. I purchased a set of used covers from a NASIOC member, but JB Weld would have probably worked just fine. I also went ahead and painted the covers with Krylon Fusion (plastic bond) satin black paint. The covers cost about $100 new from Subaru, whereas I paid much less for the used ones and paint.

I added part numbers for the JDM covers to the compendium for reference.

One thought on “cracked timing belt covers, and what to do about them

  1. Also, the easy route (that I used when doing my ej207 swap) is to just reuse the USDM covers from the ej205. Contrary to popular belief, they’re exactly the same……Only difference I found is the little sticker with the barcode that says EJ207 on it.

Leave a Reply

